Put Your Shoes On

I am having such a hard time focusing on life!  I just can’t stop thinking about photography.  It’s all I want to talk about, read about, learn about and do.  I wake up every morning thinking about it and wishing I didn’t have to go to work.  I come home from work and jump on the computer as soon as I can, sometimes foregoing dinner until I realize I’m starving, stalking all of my favorite photographer’s blogs.  When I go to bed I think about the possibilities that lie ahead and I feel so anxious to get moving.  Yes, I am a bit of a freak.

I feel like mentally and emotionally I’m here and ready.  But physically I’m not quite.  I’ve always been the kind of person that dreams so much that you have to pry my head out of the clouds just to get me back to reality.  And when I’m back in reality I feel unsettled, like I’m not where I should be.  I find myself saying “I can’t wait until blank and blank happens” or “I can’t wait until I’m blank in my life.”  This can be a bit of a problem and I really need to find the balance between dreaming and living.  I have to remind myself often that I need to enjoy the present and not worry about the future.  I read somewhere that it’s not all about the destination, but about the journey.

So I think I’m going to take a deep breath and start enjoying this journey.  It’s only the beginning and I’m just putting on my running shoes training and preparing for this steady marathon.  I have a ways to go and am only in training mode, but I have faith I will get to the finish line.  Slow and steady.  Put your shoes on….

1 Response to “Put Your Shoes On”


  1. 1 crystallephotography March 13, 2009 at 4:49 am

    as chris would say, “agreed and agregeous.”


Leave a Reply

